I MINA'TRENTAI KUÅTTRO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTION STATUS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE COMMITTEE REPORT FILED	NOTES
262-34 (COR)		Relative to commending and congratulating the Guam Islander Softball Association (GISA) bud light men's 40-plus softball team on winning the gold in the 2017 Las Vegas senior softball/united states senior softball world masters championship.	10/10/17 11:03 a.m.	10/13/17 4:00 p.m.						

I MINA'TRENTAI KUÅTTRO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2017 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. <u>262</u> -34 (COR)

Introduced by:

William M. Castro

RELATIVE TO COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE GUAM ISLANDER SOFTBALL ASSOCIATION (GISA) BUD LIGHT MEN'S 40-PLUS SOFTBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE GOLD IN THE 2017 LAS VEGAS SENIOR SOFTBALL/UNITED STATES SENIOR SOFTBALL WORLD MASTERS CHAMPIONSHIP.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAI KUÅTTRO NA LIHESLATURAN 2 GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, I Liheslaturan Guåhan hereby honors, commends and congratulates
- 4 the Guam Islander Softball Association (GISA) Bud Light Men's 40-Plus Softball Team
- on winning the Gold in the 2017 Las Vegas Senior Softball/United States Senior Softball
- 6 World Masters Championship; and
- WHEREAS, Bud Light Men's 40-Plus Softball Team comprises players from all
- 8 walks of life many of whom have competed against each other and played with each other
- 9 since their little league years; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Gold Medal Team is comprised of the following players; Keith
- 11 Hattig, Herbie Hattig, Mike Cepeda, Patrick Alvarez, Pete Concepcion, Tony Yatar,
- 12 Laurence Idelbong, John McDonald, Chris Guzman, Benji Pangelinan, Jarvis Quenga,
- 13 Robert Meno, Louis, Camacho, Glen Nelson, Joe Rivera, Jesse Sablan, Russel Maratita,
- 14 Jim Reyes, Jay Flores, Pete Torres, and Pete Aguon; and

hormod	WHEREAS,	the	Bud	Light	Men's	40's	Softball	Team	is	coached	by	Guam
--------	----------	-----	-----	-------	-------	------	----------	------	----	---------	----	------

2 baseball legends Peter Torres and Robert Meno and player coaches Keith Hattig and Peter

- 3 Aguon; and
- 4 WHEREAS, the Bud Light Men's 40-Plus Softball Team is sponsored by Ambros
- 5 Inc. Guam and Health Trends; and
- 6 WHEREAS, as kids they have represented our island as Ambassadors through the
- 7 eyes and the world of the sport of baseball and softball; and
- 8 WHEREAS, over the years the team has been awarded one of the most prestigious
- 9 and honorable award of the game by receiving the Good Sportsmanship Award; and
- WHEREAS, Bud Light Men's 40-Plus Softball Team have been exemplary role
- models for their families, friends and the youth our island; and
- WHEREAS, the Bud Light Men's 40-Plus Softball Team competed against a pool
- of 17 other world-class teams including other Guam teams and finished with an unbeaten
- pool play record of 5-0 and top seed in the double elimination bracket; and
- 15 WHEREAS, through perseverance, dedication, discipline and training they
- 16 continue to show case Guam's talent and competitive nature despite being a tiny island in
- 17 the Pacific by winning the Bronze Medal the past two (2) years;
- 18 WHEREAS, the Bud Light Men's 40-Plus Softball Team played with depth,
- 19 determination, courage and heart in the championship game defeating the Color By
- 20 Design Team from Maryland 18-16 in the Gold Medal game earning them the GOLD;
- 21 and
- 22 WHEREAS, in winning the Gold Guam becomes only the second non-continental
- 23 U.S. team to win Gold in the world tournament a feat only accomplished by a team from
- 24 Canada; therefore
- 25 **BE IT NOW RESOLVED,** that the Speaker certify, and the Legislature Secretary
- attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to; all
- 27 the players and coaches of the Bud Light Men's 40-Plus Softball Team, the Guam

1	National Olympic Committee, and the Honorable Eddie Baza Calvo, I Maga 'lahen
2	Guåhan.
	DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTAI KUÅTTRO NA
	LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN DAY OF, 2017.

BENJAMIN J.F. CRUZ Speaker RÉGINE BISCOE LEE Legislative Secretary